How Does the Nevada DMV Know When Drivers Don’t Have Auto Insurance?
Nevada insurance providers and the NV Department of Motor Vehicles cooperate to ensure that vehicle owners in the state remain insured at all times. All coverage providers in the Silver State are required to electronically submit, and regularly update, insurance records through the Nevada LIVE program. This allows the DMV to quickly identify if a motorist is insured and when a policy is canceled.
To help decrease the number of uninsured motorists on Nevada’s 37,000 miles of public roads, the DMV will send an insurance verification notice to an insurer when there are discrepancies in the LIVE system, and insurers will confirm a motorist’s coverage status. If the driver still appears to be uninsured, this notice is sent to the motorist in question. Residents often receive these notices when they switch coverage providers without having their information updated on LIVE. Drivers can respond to these queries by filling out the necessary information online, or by submitting their response to the DMV.
It’s essential for motorists to purchase Nevada auto insurance that includes liability limits of at least 15/30/10 to be considered financially responsible under the law. If motorists are caught operating a motor vehicle without this required coverage, they must pay a minimum fee of $250 for the first offense. These fees and fines can increase to as much as $1,750 and include the suspension of the offending motorist’s license, depending on how long they were uninsured and how many prior convictions they had.
If a motorist is found to have a lapse in coverage lasting more than 90 days, the offending driver must maintain an SR-22 for three years. This document is often referred to as a certificate of financial responsibility and can be obtained from an insurer licensed to sell coverage in the Silver State. Having an SR-22 means the insurer will notify the DMV immediately if the SR-22 holder drops coverage, and those who have an SR-22 and let coverage lapse can have their license suspended. To find a company willing to provide adequate protection, motorists are encouraged to make an auto insurance comparison online.
Because operating an automobile while uninsured is against the law and likely to appear on a motorist’s driving record, some insurers may charge more or be unwilling to offer coverage to drivers who were previously uninsured. Shopping around can give vehicle owners the opportunity to find an adequately priced plan from a company willing to provide car coverage for higher risk drivers.
To avoid the possibility of fines and other consequences for driving while uninsured, motorists should maintain adequate coverage at all times while operating a motor vehicle in the Silver State. Additionally, drivers are urged to assist the DMV and use the Nevada LIVE program to regularly ensure their insurance information is updated. Motorists may want to inform the DMV whenever any major changes are made, especially when changing addresses or switching coverage providers.