Florida Car Insurance Requirements
|The Sunshine State follows the No-Fault auto insurance laws and requires that any self-propelled vehicle with four or more wheels must continuously insured throughout the time it is licensed and registered in Florida. Motorist must carry and maintain Personal Injury Protection (PIP) at all times while operating an automobile at all times in addition to Property Damage Liability in the following amounts:|
Property damage liability will pay for any unintentional damages that is caused by the insured while operating their automobile up to the policy's limits; this covers damage to a third party's property such as vehicles, poles, fences, etc. The above mentioned limits are the minimum required, but under certain circumstances some motorists may need to purchase more extensive coverage.
Individuals who have have been convicted of certain traffic violations or have an uninsured accident and/or cannot pay for damages will need to carry more than the minimum requirements and may have to obtain and provide proof of Florida auto insurance in the following amounts:
Penalties for Not Maintaining FL Auto Insurance RequirementsAn individual who fails to maintain continuous coverage can have their driving privileges, license plate and registration suspended by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles for up to three years or until proper proof of coverage is provided.
In order to have a driver's license, tag and registration they will have to pay a reinstatement fee along with submission of proof of auto insurance before these items can be reinstated. The reinstatement fees are as follows; $150 for the first offense, $250 for the second offense and $500 for additional offenses that occur within 3 years of the first.